You are here:

Edison Prize

Albert Schweitzer Peace Medal

Culture award (Amberg)

Culture award (Sulzbach-Rosenberg)



Contact us


for reconciliation and abstention from violence

The acting Committee of the
Albert-Schweitzer Center for Peace
Institution for the Enhancement of Politics without Violence
in Saarbrücken
presents to
Professor Adolf Scherbaum
the Albert-Schweitzer Peace Medal
for reconciliation and abstention from violence

Albert Scherbaum has influenced the whole world with his musical activities.
All over the world he has disseminated music, especially baroque music as the medium of joy and also of peace, and in this way he has acted as a man of reconciliation among his fellow men.

He has thereby given his service to mankind in a manner similar to the organist Albert Schweizer, who dedicated himself to the master composer Johann Sebastian Bach just as Scherbaum did, something which Schweitzer once described in this way:
"The greatest thing in this utterly lively, marvelously formative, uniquely perfect art, namely Bach’s compositions, is the spirit that irradiates from them. A soul which has developed a longing for peace from the unrest of the world, and which has tasted such peace, allows others to share this experience."

Saarbrücken, the place where Prof. Scherbaum teaches, represents a special link in as much as it is not only the native Bohemian’s chosen place of residence, but in addition was itself deemed worthy of the same prize which it was awarded in the year 1971.

The donation of the Albert-Schweitzer Peace Medal to Prof. Scherbaum is intended to honor especially the tutor of the young, which Prof. Scherbaum still is, even though he is in the 8th decade of his life.

Saarbrücken/Heilsbronn on the 23rd of August 1979

Albert-Schweizer Peace Center
Institution for the Enhancement of Politics free from Violence

The governing body and awarding jury:
Günther Andres, Karl Bechert, Dom Hélder Câmara,
Robert Jungk, Linus G. Pauling, Rhena Müller-Schweitzer

Günther Heipp

This medal was previously awarded only to Pablo Casals, Pablo Picasso, Josef Hromadka, Martin Niemöller, and Günther Slotta.

I am grateful to Mr. Rolf Ziegler, Böblingen, for his translation into English.