ROM port Ethernet adapter



This project had the target of giving LAN access to even the lowest Atari computer. The components already in the computer were not suitable for this purpose, with the exception of the ROM port. This is because this method will work with older computers like 520st with TOS 1.02, with STinG loaded from floppy disk, all the way up to the TT or Falcon to work together in a LAN.

  Adapter-Hardware First to be described is the hardware, which consists of two sections.
The parallel port interface, which is plugged into the ROM port and provides a parallel port for the pocket LAN adapter. The circuit is constructed with SMD chips, which makes it very small. The contacts for the ROM port are protected from contact problems caused by oxidation. The only problem is that the adaptor circuit board is not attached or bolted on. The user must make sure that the circut board is not inadvertently pulled out of the ROM port by the ethernet cable.

This picture shows the new version of the ROM port interface with the power supply for the LAN adapter and so does not need the external plug power pack any more.

Additionally there will be a special "tower version", which will have a longer ribbon cable. The SUB-D socket can then be screwed onto the rear wall of the Towers case, so the pocket lan adapter can be plugged into the outside of the case. Of course there must be sufficient free space for the socket. 


  Pocket LAN-Adapter The LAN adapter we are using is the E3000II Model. It has both BNC and UTP links. The multiplexer parallel port on the LAN adaptor cannot be used on Atari computers. Other Lan adapters with RTL 8012 chip should also work but to my knowledge the E3000II is the only one.
The computer provides the power for the LAN adapter (with the new circuit board version) or is supplied with a separate power supply. Measurements of the power drain have shown that the ROM port can safely supply the power without problems. With the tower version, where the pocket LAN adapter is fastened from the outside, you have to use the external power supply.

Now to the software. 
There are drivers for STinG that run under MagiC or TOS, come from Vassilis Papathanassiou and are Freeware. Thanks to Vassilis for doing the work. 
STinG Version 1.26 is recommended.

Note: the software are on a HD-Disk, if you need a DD-Disk let me know.

MiNTNet driver available.


Testkonfiguration: Atari TT030 with MagiC. FTP-Server on a PC.

Client Download Upload
Newsie ca. 64kByte/s ca. 30kByte/s
aFTP1.4b4 ca. 93kByte/s ca. 36kByte/s
aFTP1.55b ca. 7,5kByte/s?? ca. 78kByte/s


Order Page

Software (of different authors) 
(look for updates)

Elmar Hilgart

Ronald Andersson


Vassilis Papathanassiou

Finn Bastiansen



"I recommend the ROM-Port Ethernet Link, it's good value." - Shiuming Lai, MyAtari Jan 2001


Back to the main page

Copyright (C) 1999-2002 by eh-systems, Elmar Hilgart
Last modification: 01. Januar 1970

Rom-Port Ethernet-Adapter
English pages

 
Kommplett-Paket

Dieses Projekt hatte das Ziel auf möglichst einfache Art Atari-Rechner LAN-Fähig zu machen. Dabei stand im Vordergrund nicht in die Rechnerhardware einzugreifen, oder bestimmte Componenten vorauszusetzen. Außer dem Rom-Port. So ist es möglich Rechner-Typen vom 520er mit TOS 1.02, wobei STinG von Diskette gebootet wurde, bis zum TT oder Falcon in ein LAN zu integrieren.

Adapter-Hardware Als Erstes soll die Harware beschrieben werden, die aus zwei Teilen besteht.
Zum einen das Parallel-Port-Interface, welches in den ROM-Port gesteckt wird und einen Parallel-Port für den Pocket-LAN-Adapter zur verfügung stellt. Die Schaltung ist komplett mit SMD-Bausteinen bestückt, was sie sehr klein macht. Die Kontakte für den ROM-Port sind vergoldet um Kontaktproblemen durch Oxidation vorzubeugen. Einzig der mechanische Halt ist ein Problem. Die Platine läst sich nicht veranken oder festschrauben. Man muß selbst dafür sorgen, das die Platine nicht durch versehentliches ziehen an der Ethernet-Leitung aus dem ROM-Port herausgerissen wird.
Dieses Bild zeigt die neue Version des ROM-Port Interfaces mit Spannungsversorgung für den LAN-Adapter. So kann auf das externe Steckernetzteil verzichtet werden.
Außerdem wird es eine spezielle "Tower-Version" geben, die extra kurz und mit einem langen Flachbandkabel versehen ist. Die SUB-D Buchse kann man dann an der Rückwand des Towers anschrauben und ist so von aussen zugänglich um den Pocket LAN-Adapter aufzunehmen. Dazu braucht man natürlich einen freien Platz für die Buchse.

Pocket LAN-Adapter Zum anderen der LAN-Adapter vom Typ E3000II. Er besitzt einen BNC und UTP Anschluß. Der noch aufgeführte Multiplexer Parallel Port kann auf Atari-Rechnern nicht genutzt werden. Funktionieren sollten auch andere Pocket-Lan-Adapter mit RTL 8012 Chip. Gefertigt wird meines Wissens nur noch der E3000II.
Mit Spannung wird der LAN-Adapter vom Computer oder mit einem separaten Netzteil versorgt. Messungen der Stromaufnahme haben gezeigt das die Spannungsversorgung ohne Probleme auch über den ROM-Port erfolgen kann. Bei der Tower-Version, wo der Pocket LAN-Adapter von außen befestigt wird, bleibt aber nichts anderes übrig als auf das externe Netzteil zurückzugreifen.


Nun zur Software.
Die Treiber sind für STinG ausgelegt und laufen unter MagiC bzw. TOS, stammen von Vassilis Papathanassiou und sind Freeware. Vielen dank an Vassilis für die Gute Arbeit.
Voraussetzung ist eine funktionierende STinG installation der Version 1.26!

Die Treiber und die restliche Software werden auf einer HD-Diskette geliefert, DD-Disketten auf Anfrage!

MiNT-Treiber verfügbar!


 
Benchmarks:
Testkonfiguration: Atari TT030 mit MagiC. PC als FTP-Server

Client Download Upload
Newsie ca. 64kByte/s ca. 30kByte/s
aFTP1.4b4 ca. 93kByte/s ca. 36kByte/s
aFTP1.55b ca. 7,5kByte/s?? ca. 78kByte/s


Download im LAN. aFPT als Client, PC mit FTP-Server.
Download 1

Download 2


Download aus dem Internet mit aFTP als Client über ISDN.
Download 3

Download 4
 




Zur Bestellseite
 



 

Software (von verschiedenen Autoren)
(Auf Updates achten)!


Elmar Hilgart


Ronald Andersson
ATACK
Vassilis Papathanassiou
Finn Bastiansen

 

   
  award

4star


"I recommend the ROM-Port Ethernet Link, it's good value." - Shiuming Lai, MyAtari Jan 2001


 
 
 

Zurück zur Hauptseite



Copyright (c) 1999-2002 by eh-systems, Elmar Hilgart
Letzte Änderung: 01. Januar 1970